SWAP - working holidays in Australia for Canadians, work and

Working Holiday Canada Australia

Holiday / December 26, 2017

Who can apply?

International Experience Canada (IEC) is a working holiday visa in Canada program. It allows people from many different countries under 35 years of age to work in Canada for a temporary period, of one or two years.

Citizens of participating countries can now begin creating their 2017 profile. The full list of participating countries is:

Australia Austria Belgium
Chile Costa Rica Croatia
Czech Republic Denmark Estonia
France Germany Greece
Hong Kong Ireland Italy
Japan Korea Latvia
Lithuania Netherlands New Zealand
Norway Poland Slovakia
Slovenia Spain Sweden
Switzerland Taiwan UK

Mexico and Ukraine: The youth mobility agreements between Canada and these countries are currently under review. As a result, the pools are not open.

How to get a working holiday visa in Canada

You can obtain a working holiday visa in Canada through the International Experience Canada (IEC) program. Apply directly to the Immigration, Refugees, and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) to avoid paying any fees to agents for vague additional services.

The current application process was revealed in November 2015, and remains in place in for the 2017 program.

One of the biggest changes is you no longer need to wait until the early months of the new year to begin the application procedure for a working holiday visa in Canada.

The new system will draw applicants at random at “regular intervals” until all places are filled for the year. This means you can create a profile and become a candidate at your leisure, any time after the opening date for your country.

However, your best bet is to apply early for a working holiday visa in Canada. This will expose you to a greater number of these draws.

You’ll be asked to enter one or more ‘pools’ as determined by country and visa category. ‘Australia: Working Holiday’ and ‘Ireland: Young Professionals’ would be examples of pools.

CIC has committed to giving at least five days notice before each country’s and category’s final rounds of invitations, which will mark the closure of that pool for the season.

Source: moving2canada.com